Kastra

So I’ve been in the city almost 8 months, and every time I leave the house I get to walk past the old city walls which run along the main road. At the top of the hill there’s Kastra, the “tower” which can be seen from anywhere in the city, this stone unused city monument is now a place for social gathering, acoustic music and the smoking scene.

Throughout my EVS project I have been to Kastra a number of times, with a beer or wine and to enjoy the sunset. It is a truly remarkable site, and it was only a couple of days ago that I was shown a brand new place to go and sit, which is higher up and made it possible to see the entire city. It is definitely one thing I will miss when I leave, it’s somewhere to escape.. and believe me, we’ve escaped and sat there many times.

Leave a Reply

