And so, the countdown begins

In your life a lot of people will tell you to seize the day – carpe diem and YOLO style, and it’s true… take every opportunity, show the world what you have to offer. But there also comes a time when you have to tell yourself “enough is enough”.

It was a fantastic opportunity for me to come to Greece.. to spend 7 months in a beautiful city and learn all about its culture and history. But this is when I say I don’t want this anymore. And I am 100% happy with that. Yes, my EVS should be 10 months and yes I have made some amazing memories but along with that there has been heartbreak, pain and many many tears. EVS definitely isn’t for everybody.

I’ve met some amazing people during my time here, a few I know I will meet again, but I also met some ar**holes. Some complete morons who changed this experience for me; these people have issues with how I speak, what I say, how I choose to spend my Friday night and even how I sit.

So for the rest of my shortened time here I’m going to countdown, not necessarily in the post, because the date is between me and my mentor, not for nosy EVSers to gossip about. So instead, this countdown will be a new experience that day or something I learned

So…

Number ##

Today I learned how to stand up for myself, a couple of days ago when  I first had this discussion with my mentor Sofia I just agreed to everything although in my mind I knew I wanted to leave I promised to give Thessaloniki one more chance. But today I decided to say no. Because the incident today hurt, it may not have seemed a lot to the volunteers involved but to me it was the final straw. I am tired of being left out.. Maybe I am an old EVS and maybe we don’t talk that much, but it doesn’t give you the right to not include me. I’m done with bullsh*t group.

Leave a Reply

